Villager Schools Sevens
Dave Stewart

Dave Stewart, Springbok flyhalf and Sevens founder

The Villager Sevens is the brainchild of Dave Stewart, the idealistic Springbok back and the founder of the Sportsmans Warehouse which sponsors the tournament, played on Friday 05 September this year.

Stewart spoke of his connection with the Sevens: “My love for rugby was engendered at Wynberg Boys High and developed when I joined the Villager Club in 1953. So I have been rewarded with a 60-year association with club rugby. This association has brought me fun, friendships and camaraderie, as well as fruitful business liaisons. These still exist and every few months we oldies meet for a luncheon at the Villager Club where we are joined by some of our old rivals from other clubs, who shared great times with us.

“There was no money involved and we all joined our clubs for the joy of belonging. Our club, Villager, through an initiative by some of our younger members has decided to restore the club to amateur status and sadly, but perhaps understandably, has lost many of our players and thus we have found our 1st Team playing in the Super League B for the second time in 137 years. However, with the team currently on track to gain promotion after this season, the future of the club looks bright.”

“Obviously this is all about Villager, but it also supports our original aim when we started the Schools Sevens to give our schoolboys, playing their last game in their school jerseys, a stimulating outing that would encourage those who were not going to university, to join rugby clubs and continue the true spirit of our wonderful game.”

“We look forward to hosting you.”

There are 32 teams, mostly from schools, taking part in the Sevens.

Matches begin at 14h00 and run through to 20h00 where the final will be played on the A field.


Participating Schools
SACS High School
Wynberg Boys High School
Bishops High School
Rondebosch High School
Fish Hoek High School
Westerford High School
Paul Roos High School
Tygerberg High School
Milnerton High School
Langa RFC
JAG Malibu
Parklands High School
Primrose RFC
JAG Sisizmela
WC Sports School
Paarl Gym High School